Orchestra Rehearsals

Normal reahearsal times and venues:

Tuesday rehearsals: 19.15 - 21.45hrs
     the main school hall (Eaton Grove) at Norwich High School, Newmarket Road, Norwich. (NHS in the list below)
Details of rehearsal venue are on the rehearsal venues map
Friday rehearsals (the week of the concert only): 19.15 - 21.45hrs
    for orchestral concerts: the main school hall (Eaton Grove) at Norwich High School
    for choral concerts: St Andrew’s Hall
Saturday rehearsals (day of concert only):14.00 – 17.00hrs, in St Andrew’s Hall, Norwich (SAH in the list below)
Concerts: 19.30hrs in St Andrew’s Hall, Norwich

Members are expected to be available for all the relevant dates listed below, unless a special arrangement is made with your section leader (strings and wind: Rob Barnes, brass: Laurence Thistlewood, percussion: Andy Newman).
In addition, please inform your section leader if there is a last-minute problem about getting to a rehearsal. Only if you fail to make contact by this method should you try to phone Rob Barnes (01508 521029) or Mike Nutt (01603 503718)or another member known to be coming to the rehearsal.

Download PDF
of Rehearsal Schedule for the 2019-20 season.

(rehearsal schedule below last updated 11:00, Thu 15th August 2019)
PLEASE NOTE the players required, repertoire and venues may be subject to future changes. Such changes are always posted here as soon as possible after they are announced.

Date Venue Time Players required
Tuesday 17th September NHS 19:15pm Full: Repertoire Night - Bax Symphony No 3
Tuesday 24th September NHS 19:15pm Full
Tuesday 1st October NHS 19:15pm 2 sectionals: Strings: NHS Main Hall, WW/Hns: NHS Drama Studio
Tuesday 8th October NHS 19:15pm Strings, woodwind+horns
Tuesday 15th October NHS 19:15pm Strings, woodwind+ horns
Tuesday 22nd October     (no rehearsal - school half term week)
Tuesday 29th October NHS 19:15pm Full - 1st rehearsal for December concert (French night)
Tuesday 5th November NHS 19:15pm Full
Friday 8th November SAH 19:15pm Full + Chorus
(note venue St Andrews Hall)
Saturday 9th November SAH 2:00pm Full + Chorus - note earlier start time. Norwich City home match

Saturday 9th November

SAH

7.30pm

Concert: Holst Ballet Suite, The Perfect Fool, Bridge The Sea, Suite for Orchestra, Finzi Intimations of Immortality)

       
Tuesday 12th November NHS 19:15pm Strings, woodwind, horns
Tuesday 19th November NHS 19:15pm 2 sectionals:Strings: NHS Main Hall, WW/Hns: NHS Drama Studio
Tuesday 26th November NHS 19:15pm Full
Tuesday 3rd December NHS 19:15pm Full
Friday 6th December SAH 19:15pm Full
Saturday 7th December SAH 2:00pm Full - note earlier start time. Norwich City home match

Saturday 7th December

SAH

7:30pm

French Night Concert: Saint-SaŽns Symphonic Poem Phaeton, Lalo Symphonie Espagnole, Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique

       
Tuesday 10th December NHS 19:15pm Full
Monday 16th December SAH 19:15pm Full

Tuesday 17th December

SAH

7:30pm

The Orchestra ARE playing in the Christmas Concert this year. Programme to be announced

       
Tuesday 7th January NHS 19:15pm Full
Tuesday 14th January NHS 19:15pm 2 sectionals: Strings: NHS Main Hall, WW/Hns: Drama Studio
Tuesday 21st January NHS 19:15pm Strings, woodwind, horns
Tuesday 28th January NHS 19:15pm Full
Tuesday 4th February NHS 19:15pm Full
Friday 7th February SAH 19:15pm Full
Saturday 8th February SAH 2:00pm Full - note earlier start time. Norwich City home match (Liverpool)

Saturday 8th February

SAH

7:30pm

Concert: Shostakovich Festive Overture, Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 3, Prokofiev Symphony No 5

       
Tuesday 11th February NHS 19:15pm Full - 1st rehearsal for Mahler Symphony No 3
Tuesday 18th February     (no rehearsal - school half term week)
Tuesday 25th February NHS 19:15pm
Strings, woodwind, horns.
Tuesday 3rd March NHS 19:15pm
Strings, woodwind, horns
Tuesday 10th March NHS 19:15pm Full + Choir
Tuesday 17th March HEW-WR 19:15pm Full + Choir
Friday 20th March SAH 19:15pm
Full + Choir (note venue St Andrews Hall)
Saturday 21st March SAH 2:00pm Full + Choir - note earlier start time. Norwich City home match (Everton)

Saturday 21st March

SAH

7:30pm

Concert: Beethoven Missa Solemnis

       
Tuesday 24th March NHS 19:15pm Full
Tuesday 31st March NHS 19:15pm Strings, woodwind, horns
Tuesday 7th April     (no rehearsal - school Easter holiday)
Tuesday 14th April     (no rehearsal - school Easter holiday)
Tuesday 21st April NHS 19:15pm Full + Choir
Tuesday 28th April NHS 19:15pm Full + Choir
Tuesday 5th May SAH 19:15pm Full - (note venue St Andrews Hall)
Friday 8th May tbc 19:15pm
Full + Choir
Sunday 10th May tbc 12 noon (tbc) Full + Choir - note earlier start time

Sunday 10th May

SAH

7:30pm

Concert: Mahler Symphony No 3

 

Make a note in your diary for the 2020-2021 season concert dates: 7th Nov, 12th Dec, 22nd Dec, 6th Feb, 20th Mar.